∞ ⋈ ∞ ∞ ⋈ ∞ ∞ ⋈ ∞ ∞ ⋈ ∞ ∞ ⋈ ∞ ∞ ⋈ ∞

A simple view about consonance and dissonance of sounds

In the West an octave is divided into 12 semi-tones also called half-tones. Between two following frets on a guitar or between two following clavicles of a piano, one half-tone exists. Indicating all the notes, possible, of and not of, the C scale, which is the easiest, all the notes can be written as follows: C, C#, D, D#, E, F, F#, G, G#, A, A#, B, C. Using the #-symbol to indicate sharp is not correct but it is close enough. There are 13 notes from the lower/higher C to the C of the next octave, which means 12 half-steps between the two Cs exist; one semi-tone, between two adjacent notes, when all 13 notes of an octave, are written. The most dissonant sounds, happen when 6 half-tones or 1 half-tone appear between notes. The most consonant sounds happen when 12 (octave), 5 (perfect 4th) or 7 (perfect 5th) half-tones exist between two notes. It is interesting that pop-music (popular music) usually only use consonant sounds and alternative music use dissonant sounds, as well. Dissonant intervals are however given shorter time frames than consonant intervals because dissonance sounds alternative. The following links give sounds in which the most consonant and dissonant intervals are played in the A-Major scale (A, B, C#, D, E, F#, G#, A):

Dissonant sounds in A Major:

One semi tone from A to A#:

Six semi-tones from A to D#:

Consonant sounds in A Major:

Octave (12 semi-tones) from A to A:

Perfect 4th (5 semi-tones) from A to D:

Perfect 5th (7 semi-tones) from A to E:

Depressed sound in A Minor:

Minor 3rd (3 semi-tones) from A to C: